Signature of Divine

“Yahweh, Yahweh…
Great is your glory when you go before me
Oh, we sing…
Holy, Holy…
Your ways are lovely. So high above me.
Yahweh”

-NEEDTOBREATHE


I don’t know what compelled me to turn off the road and run up the dirt trail this morning.

All I know is that one minute, I was running up the road from Balanced Rock to Garden of the Gods, and the next I was on a trail I had never run.

I pushed up the trail, eventually turning this run into a hike because it was so steep. I looked down at my feet, watching as my new white Nikes became stained with red dirt. I hopped up the wooden stairs and slid down little hills, only looking up for a brief second here and there to make sure I wasn’t about to run into a person or a wild animal or a tree. I was so busy staring at my own two feet on the path that I didn’t look around me.

I came to the crest of the hill and finally looked up. The view was absolutely breathtaking. The recent monsoon-like weather caused the trees and grass to become a more vibrant green. Red and white rocks and cliffs dotted the hills, and Pikes Peak stood tall and majestic against the endless blue sky.

Standing at the top of the hill, many people would feel like they were on top of the world, but I suddenly felt humbled by the immensity of the mountains and the vastness of the sky and landscape. This world is so much bigger than just me, I thought.

Once in a while, God reminds us that, while we are special as His children, we need to remain humble. 1 Peter 5:6 says, “Humble yourselves, therefore, under God’s mighty hand, that he may lift you up in due time.” God wants the glory for what He created: this mysterious, beautiful, incredible world.

Today, take a moment to find God’s divine signature and be humbled by it.

Leave a comment